DFW_Logo_PDFThis year’s conference is proudly brought to you by DFW Writers’ Workshop and its incredible membership.

Emily Hildebrand, Director
Emily worked various positions on the DFW Conference Committee before accepting the role of Director, which is by far her favorite. She is working on her third novel and is always looking for ways to connect and inspire others.

Steve Manning, Master Scheduler
Stephen Manning, also known as Steve Prime in certain circles, started the conference back when he was the president of the DFW Writers’ Workshop in 2007 and 2008. He is the author of World War II nonfiction books “The Courage of Common Men” and “Texans Touched by World War II,” published by Republic of Texas Press. He is now a social media and web content manager for a major corporation. And we mean MAJOR.

Kat Cook, Education
Kat, who will do almost anything for cheese, writes: YA, urban fantasy, and LGBT fiction (sometimes all at once but more often just two out of three).  When she’s not writing, she teaches special needs kids.  Her first novella, “Safe Passage,” is available on e-book under the name of her evil alter-ego: Kate Owen.

Shawna Smith, Treasurer

Tex Thompson, Editor
@tex_maam  – http://www.thetexfiles.com
Arianne “Tex” Thompson is a home-grown DFWcon success story.  At the 2012 conference, she met Jennie Goloboy of Red Sofa Literary.  In 2013, Tex and Jennie sold her first two novels to Solaris.  2014 saw the publication of her debut novel: One Night in Sixes, the first book in a cowboys-and-fishmen “rural fantasy” series.   Now serving as DFWcon’s editor and wielding the fastest red pen this side of the Pecos River, Tex has since made it her mission to help other writers achieve their goals – one misplaced modifier at a time.

TBA, Travel

Jason Meyers, Front Desk

David C. Justin, VIP Coordinator
@davidcjustin – www.TheNakedBunnyBlog.com
A mild-mannered minion with the Evil Galactic Empire and an ink-slinging raconteur with The Prairie Republic online and 828 Web Design, David Justin is in his 4th year working with DFWCon. Represented by Michelle Johnson of Inklings Literary Agency, David writes suspense, children’s stories, feature news articles, web content, blogs and a weekly grocery list. He also loves his wife and daughters, coaches soccer, walks the dog, takes out the trash, cooks dinner and fights alongside his wife against the never-ending tyranny of evil laundry.

Kirk von der Heydt, Registration

Nathan Beitenmiller, Tech Support 
Nathan is a software developer, freelance writer, former strategy guide author, and technical editor who loves science fiction and fantasy. He is a recent graduate of Mary Robinette Kowal’s “Writing on the Fast Track” course and a future attendee of the 2014 Writing Excuses Retreat as well as a member of the DFW Writers’ Workshop. He has traveled to three continents and lived in seven states and currently resides near Ft. Worth, Texas.

Brendan, Wrangler Master

Trayce Primm, Committee Support

Michelle O’Neal, Front Desk Support
Michelle O’Neal has been a DFW Writers’ Workshop member for five years and served as the 2014 Education Director for the DFW Writers’ Conference. She is a Senior Forensic Chemist at the Tarrant County Medical Examiner’s Office and with twenty-five years’ experience gained in forensic investigations Ms. O’Neal shares her adventures through her writing.

Jennifer Duggins, Support

Of course, as a non-profit, volunteer-run organization, DFWcon wouldn’t be possible without generous donations of time and talent from our conference committee members and volunteer staff.   If you are thinking of visiting our conference in any capacity and want to help, please don’t hesitate to ask!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s